The Christmas Spirit

Every year at this time the annual “Merry Christmas” vs. “Happy Holidays” wars start up.  I’m sure you’ve all run into one form or another of this phenomenon.  Normally friendly and rational people suddenly become the PC police, or the re-incarnation of Richard the Lionheart during the Crusades, and begin shouting at each other over the greeting the offending party happened to use. 

 This blog is not going to be a pontification (you liked that, didn’t you Jr.) on “Keep Christ in Christmas”; I think you all know where I stand on that.  Rather, I thought I’d comment on two recent signs I saw.  They were for local businesses advertising to get customers to frequent their establishments.
First off, in Raleigh, the local “gentlemen’s club”  (and I use that term loosely) was advertising their “Annual Christmas Party.”  Hmmmm…
Then, in Fayetteville, there was a less reputable establishment that had this on their sign:  “Don’t Just Stay Home for the Holidays.”  
Uhhhh….
CHRISTmas.  
HOLIday.  (HOLYday)
Does anyone else see the sad irony in this?  Or is it just me?  We argue and fight over what the girl at Target says to us when we check out, but the strip club is okay with having a Christmas party.  HOLYdays were to be set aside as time with our families and as time to reflect on what God has done for us, yet we’d rather complain that our company is having a “Holiday Party” and not a “Christmas Party.”  
My point, lest we miss it, is this:  so many of us fight for so many things, yet I don’t think we take the time to figure out what they really stand for.  Instead of complaining that someone said “Happy Holidays” to me, maybe I’ll just reply “Yeah, they are.”  
Let’s keep Christ in Christmas, and let’s keep the Holydays Holy.
Merry Christmas, y’all.  (That one was for you, Tex)
Leave a Reply

