The Anticipation

I could feel it in the air all week.  I could see it in my kids’ faces each day as “The Big Day” approaches (I love that pic!).  I could also see it in the clock by my bed as they have progressively been getting up earlier and earlier.  I’m pretty sure they won’t even go to sleep Christmas Eve, but will be climbing the walls and running in circles all night!

What is “it?”  It’s the anticipation of what’s to come.  It’s the excruciating excitement that’s bound up in 25 days (or more) of waiting…waiting…waiting for “The Big Day” to come.  It’s so palpable right now, so very heavy in the air, it feels as if you could reach out and grab hold of it.  I wish I could bottle it up.

And it’s not just about those beautifully wrapped packages under the tree.  It’s not just about the stockings all hung by the chimney with care.  It’s not just about the joy that I know I’ll get to experience watching my kids tear through those things like Grant took Richmond.  I say “not just about” because those things are a part of it.  The build up, the hope of what’s to come, the questions each day of “is today the day?!!”  They’re a part of it because they point to THE part of it, the reason for IT, the mystery and majesty that gave us this whole celebration to begin with.

The babe laid in the straw.  The child in the feed trough.  The Promised fulfilled.

God become Man. The Word become flesh.

Jesus, come to earth to defeat death and conquer the grave.  The Savior, come to set man free from the bondage of sin and darkness.  As the old hymn goes:

O come, O come Emmanuel, and ransom captive Israel” 

and

Rejoice!  Rejoice!  Emmanuel shall come to thee O Israel!”

You see, in my kids’ ever increasing joy, I want to have that same joy in the Savior.  I want to rejoice greatly at the wonder of His first coming, and to anticipate greatly His promised return.  In their excitement, I want to point them to the reason for the excitement.  In the tearing open of gifts, I want them to know about THE Gift, God’s own Son.

In the songs, in the decorations, in the lights, in the feel that is Christmas, I want my family to take it all in and be filled up with it.  Why?  Because it’s this excitement, this joy, this feeling that we should have ALWAYS as believers, not just relegate it to a few days a year.

So I rejoice in my Savior, and I’m going to celebrate His birth greatly this year.  I pray you will, too.

Merry Christmas everybody!

Leave a Reply

